Import from .ots (OpenOffice, LibreOffice) files

Questions and answers on how to use XLSReadWriteII 5.
Post Reply
mpuppe_jam
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 3:09 pm

Import from .ots (OpenOffice, LibreOffice) files

Post by mpuppe_jam »

Hi,

The product page for XLSReadWriteII (http://www.axolot.com/xls.htm) says that data can be imported from "Open Office Calc documents". However, I cannot find any documentation on this feature. How can I import data from such files?

Thanks,
Martin Puppe, JAM Software
larsa
Site Admin
Posts: 926
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:30 pm

Re: Import from .ots (OpenOffice, LibreOffice) files

Post by larsa »

Hello

This seems to have disappeared fore some time ago, but it's back now. Download the latest update.

Here is a sample:

Code: Select all

uses XLSImportOOCalc5;

var
  OOC: TXLSImportOOC;
begin
  OOC := TXLSImportOOC.Create(XLS);
  try
    OOC.LoadFromFile('Test.ods');
  finally
    OOC.Free;
  end;
end;
Lars Arvidsson, Axolot Data
mpuppe_jam
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Import from .ots (OpenOffice, LibreOffice) files

Post by mpuppe_jam »

Thanks for your reply. I cannot update to the newest version right now. But I will test it as soon as we are updating.
Mick.pl
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:27 pm

Re: Import from .ots (OpenOffice, LibreOffice) files

Post by Mick.pl »

Hi,

I can read Open Office Calc documents using the above example - thanks a lot.
Then I do XLSGrid.Refresh (or Repaint) and then XLS grid shows spreadsheet contents.
But no formatting is done - columns size, font - all of that is ignored.

Is it possible to solve my problem with that formatting?

Michal
larsa
Site Admin
Posts: 926
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:30 pm

Re: Import from .ots (OpenOffice, LibreOffice) files

Post by larsa »

Hello

Sorry, formatting is not supported in ODS files.
Lars Arvidsson, Axolot Data
Mick.pl
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:27 pm

Re: Import from .ots (OpenOffice, LibreOffice) files

Post by Mick.pl »

Thank you for the reply.
You do not write about this functionality in the future updates, so does it mean you don't plan such a progress of your product?

Michal
Post Reply